Ambassador Marjon Kamara Appointed New Foreign Minister

Liberia's Foreign Minister-designate, Ambassador Marjon Kamara
Liberia's Foreign Minister-designate, Ambassador Marjon Kamara
Photo Credit: Public Affairs

As President Sirleaf Makes Additional Appointments in Government Subject to Senate Confirmation where Applicable


The President of the Republic of Liberia, H.E. Mrs. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, has appointed H.E. Ambassador Marjon Kamara, as the new Minister of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Liberia.


Prior to her preferment for the post of Foreign Minister-designate, Ambassador Kamara was Liberia’s Ambassador accredited to Liberia's Permannent Mission at the United Nations in New York.


If she is confirmed by the Senate, Ambassador Kamara will be Liberia’s second female Foreign Minister, after H. E. Madam Olubanke King Akerele, under this President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf-led administration. She will also be the third female Minister of Foreign Affairs in the Republic, following in the footsteps of H. E. Dorothy Musuleng Cooper (late) and H. E. Olubanke King Akerele.


In the late 1970s, Ambassador Kamara worked with the late Foreign Minister C. Cecil Dennis, who succeeded Rochforte L. Weeks, President Tolbert’s first Foreign Minister in 1972.


She replaces H. E. Former Foreign Minister Augustine Kpehe Ngafuan, who resigned a few months ago.


President Sirleaf also appointed Mr. J. Wesley Washington as Assistant Minister for Public Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and former Information, Cultural Affairs and Tourism Minister, Mr. Lewis Browne as Ambassador.


The President’s latest appointments, also affected the Ministries of Internal Affairs, Youth and Sports, Lands, Mines and Energy, Public Works, Transport, Post and Telecommunications, Independent National Commission on Human Rights, Public Procurement and Concessions Commission, Law Reform Commission, Executive Protection Service and the Judiciary.

These appointments are subject to confirmation by the Senate where applicable.

Those appointed are:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Marjon Kamara        -     Minister
Lewis G. Brown    -         Ambassador
J. Wesley Washington  -  Assistant Minister for Public Affairs

Ministry of Internal Affairs
Henrique Tokpah         -    Minister

Ministry of Information, Culture & Tourism
Eugene Nagbe        -    Minister

Ministry of Youth & Sports
Saah N’Tow            -    Minister

Independent National Commission on Human Rights
Mr. Adolphus Wade    -              Commissioner
Ms. Tonia Wiles        -                 Commissioner
Mr. Wilfred Gray Johnson    -    Commissioner
Rev. Bartholomew Colley    -    Commissioner

Ministry of Lands, Mines & Energy
Mr. Joseph Howe        -    Assistant Minister for Energy

Law Reform Commission
Cllr. Boakai Kanneh        -    Commissioner

Board of Commissioners, Public Procurement and Concessions Commission
Willie Belleh             -    Chairman
Mr. John Ballout         -    Member
(Replacing Mr. Catakaw)    -    Member

Ministry of Transport
Kansualism B. Kansuah    -    Assistant Minister for Land and Rail Transport

Ministry of Public Works
Edsel Smith            -    Assistant Minister for Construction

Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications
Abu Kamara            -    Assistant Minister for Administration

Executive Protective Services
Ms. Rose Stryker        -    Assistant Director

Mr. Edwin C. Walker, Jr.    -    Notary Public, Montserrado County